Thanks for visiting our blog. We hope you’ll make this place another home and a way to connect with new friends from Shift as we grow together in our understanding of our faith and how we live it in the reality of our REAL lives.

Feel free to leave a comment and become part of the discussion.

July Teaching Series

Let’s start this week by reading the text from this past Sunday:

. . .There was a wedding celebration in the village of Cana in Galilee.  Jesus’ mother was there, and Jesus and his disciples were also invited to the celebration.  The wine supply ran out during the festivities, so Jesus’ mother told him, “They have no more wine.”  “Dear woman, that’s not our problem,” Jesus replied.  “My time has not yet come.”  But his mother told the servants, “Do whatever he tells you.”  Standing nearby were six stone water jars, used for Jewish ceremonial washing.  Each could hold twenty to thirty gallons.  Jesus told the servants, “Fill the jars with water.”  When the jars had been filled, he said, “Now dip some out, and take it to the master of ceremonies.”  So the servants followed his instructions.  When the master of ceremonies tasted the water that was now wine, not knowing where it had come from (though, of course, the servants knew), he called the bridegroom over.  “A host always serves the best wine first,” he said.  “Then, when everyone has had a lot to drink, he brings out the less expensive wine.  But you have kept the best until now!”  This miraculous sign at Cana in Galilee was the first time Jesus revealed his glory. And his disciples believed in him.
John 2:1-11

Personal Reflection Question:

We see Mary trusted Jesus to help her resolve the problem of a lack of wine (v5). We also see the disciples believed in him (v11). Reflect on how your faith/belief in Jesus could grow this week through understanding the deeper significance of this sign. Do you trust in Jesus for the difficult areas of your life, or are you trying to resolve your problems in your own strength?

As we read and discussed this text on Sunday I  came to realize that at times in my walk with Christ I approach Him with an empty sort of faith.  A half faith.  An almost there faith.  A faith iof the mind, but not of the heart.  A faith that is willing to take a problem or situation to Christ, but then loses itself somewhere in the middle.

If I’m honest with myself I would admit that I, like Mary, will run to Jesus whenever I encounter a “wine shortage” situation.  When the money is gone, when the gas tank is almost empty, when the relationship disappears, when my situation is no longer in my control, I run to Jesus.  “I’m out of wine!!” I cry.  But this is the middle.  This is a faith begun. A faith still in process.  AND this is where Mary’s faith becomes different than mine.  Her faith grew into confident action. Her faith knew Jesus would do something and she LET Him do it.  “Do whatever he tells you,” she said.

It’s in this middle place between the water and the wine that I believe I have room to grow.  I wonder how often I have run to Jesus shouting “I’m out of wine!!” only to run away to fix the problem myself.  Now, I wouldn’t call 911 ONLY to let them know my house was on fire.  After hanging up the phone, my faithful expectation would be to hear the sirens of the fire truck screaming it was on it’s way.  But how often do I fail to apply this faith with God?  How often do I call upon Him about the fire destroying my life but then run back into the fire with my own water bucket?  Do I cry to Him for help only to run away with my own solution?

The next time I run to Jesus looking for a miracle I want to walk away confident in His response and not my own.  I want to walk away saying “I’ll do whatever he says,” and LET Him do it.

